JJA Awards, 2010

JJA Announces 2010 A Team Activists, Advocates, Altruists, Aiders and Abettors of Jazz whose works have had far-reaching consequences.

New JJA Jazz Heroes category honors local activism in support of jazz musicians, audience development, education and journalism.

Performing Musicians Named, Winners to be Announced at City Winery 155 Varick St. at Vandam, New York City on Monday, June 14, 2010, 3:30 to 6:30 p.m. Reservations and tickets at http://www.JJAJazzAwards.org Streaming Live Video Online on http://www.JJAJazzAwards.org

Some 300 dedicated jazz musicians, record company execs, educators, philanthropists, presenters, publishers and media activists will be on hand at the City Winery on Monday, June 14, 3:30 to 6:30 p.m., to honor JJA “A Team” award recipients, JJA Jazz Heroes, as well as winners voted upon by professional members of the non-profit JJA in 41 categories of accomplishments in music and music journalism from April 15, 2009 to April 15, 2010, and also lifetime achievements. WNYC Radio host Terrance McKnight will serve as the master of ceremonies for the evening, with a toast by Robbin Ahrold of BMI. Streaming Live Video from the City Winery event can be viewed starting at 3:30 pm June 14 at http://www.JJAJazzAwards.org.

Confirmed attendees include A Team honorees James Jordan (New York State Council of the Arts/producer-consultant of Ornette Coleman), Sue Mingus, Eric Overmyer (co-creator-producer of the HBO show Treme), “Jazz Hero-Boston” Fred Taylor (Paul’s Mall/Jazz Workshop/Scullers) and nominees Joe Lovano, Sheila Jordan, Maria Schneider, Darcy James Argue, Vijay Iyer, Rudresh Mahanthappa, Lew Tabackin, Henry Threadgill, Muhal Richard Abrams, Josh Jackson, Roberta Gambarini, Gary Smulyan, Clare Daley, Daniel Sawodnick, Giacomo Gates, Jamie Baum and Kenny Barron.

Music for the event will be played by the Bobby Sanabria Big Band, saxophonist Tia Fuller’s Quartet, pianist Marc Cary’s Focus Trio, guitarist Rale Micic’s Trio and solo pianist Ayako Shirasaki. Awards will be presented by members of the JJA.

The JJA’s “A Team” awards are being given to:

· Eric Overmyer and David Simon, producers and creators of Treme

· Sue Mingus, director of Charles Mingus repertory ensembles, record producer and author (Tonight At Noon)

· James Jordan, retired director of the Music Program at the New York State Council on the Arts, adviser/producer for Ornette Coleman

· Virginia Wicks, pioneering jazz publicist

· John Norris (posthumously) and Bill Smith, co-founders of Coda Magazine, the Jazz and Blues Centre of Toronto, and Sackville Records

· Yvonne Ervin, executive director of the Western Jazz Presenters Network, vice president of the Jazz Journalists Association, former executive director of the Tucson Jazz Society, consultant to the National Jazz Service Organization, Mid-Atlantic Arts Foundation, Kennedy Center for the Arts

“We look at ‘A Team’ inductees as models for action,” Mandel continued, “and at the voted winners of Jazz Awards as embodiments of the spirit of music all JJA members applaud, whoever they vote for. The role of jazz journalists is to document, study, analyze and advance jazz in all its forms and whatever formats are available. Giving Jazz Awards is one way to bring the best of jazz to the forefront, gaining it more attention.”

JJA Jazz Heroes is a new category of honors bestowed at the discretion of the Board of the JJA, for local activism in support of jazz musicians, audience development, education and journalism. The following people will be honored in this category:

· Jazz Hero, Bay Area: Khalil Shaheed, trumpeter; founder of the Oaktown Jazz Workshop, advisor to San Francisco Symphony’s Aim Program, Stanford Jazz Workshop and the San Jose Jazz Society

· Jazz Hero, Boston: Fred Taylor, entertainment director Scullers Jazz Club, board member Jazz Boston, former Artistic Director of the Tanglewood Jazz Festival, past manager of the Jazz Workshop and Paul’s Mall, talent scout

· Jazz Hero, Chicago: Geraldine de Haas, organizer of Jazzfest at the South Shore Cultural Center, founder of Jazz Unites, Inc., organizer and educator

· Jazz Hero, Chicago: Joe Segal, owner/operator of the Jazz Showcase

· Jazz Hero, New Orleans: Jordan Hirsch, outgoing director of Sweet Home New Orleans

Tickets for both jazz industry members and the general public are available for purchase at http://www.JJAJazzAwards.org.

Tickets for the Awards ceremony, (doors open at 3:30 pm) and subsequent reception are $150. Tickets for the reception only, doors opening at 5 p.m., are $75. Both the ceremony and the reception are at City Winery, 155 Varick St. at Vandam, in New York City.

Satellite parties are being held to celebrate the JJA’s Jazz Awards at the Jazzschool in Berkeley, Outpost Performance Center in Albuquerque, Triple Door in Seattle (sponsored by Earshot Jazz), the Jazz Showcase in Chicago and the home of 17-year-old alto saxophonist, published writer and JJA member Mikayla Gilbreath in Scottsdale, Arizona. Other locations are to be announced, for information updates go to http://www.JJAJazzAwards.org.

The Jazz Awards also serve as a fundraiser for the Jazz Journalists Association, a 501 (c) (3) group of 450 writers, bloggers, photographers and broadcasters and new media producers located world-wide.Tickets purchased and donations are tax deductible.

For more information on the Jazz Journalists Association, including this year’s nominees, go to http://www.JJANews.org.

..:: Source: DL Media ::..