, , , , , , , , ,

Classic Jazz Revisited

Various Artists - California Concert

Various Artists -][- California Concert: The Hollywood Palladium – [SONY MASTERWORKS, 2010]

With CTI Records having gone independent in 1970, founder Creed Taylor celebrated the early success of the label with a one night only concert at the Hollywood Palladium on July 18, 1971.

Taylor handpicked a dream team of CTI artists for California Concert: The Hollywood Palladium, with GEORGE BENSON on guitar, FREDDIE HUBBARD on trumpet, HUBERT LAWS on flute, STANLEY TURRENTINE on tenor saxophone, HANK CRAWFORD on alto saxophone, JOHNNY HAMMOND on organ and electric piano, RON CARTER on bass, BILLY COBHAM on drums and AIRTO MOREIRA on percussion.

California Concert: The Hollywood Palladium is newly remastered from the original two-track analog tapes and is the most complete version of the legendary concert ever released. This 2-CD set doubles the content of the original five-song LP release with five additional tracks – three of them previously unreleased – and restores the original concert sequence for the first time.

Disc: 1

1. Impressions (previously unreleased)
2. Fire And Rain
3. Red Clay
4. Blues West
5. So What (previously unreleased)

Disc: 2

1. Here’s That Rainy Day
2. It’s Too Late
3. Sugar
4. Leaving West
5. Straight Life (previously unreleased)

..:: Source: Amazon.com ::..