, , , , , ,


JD Allen -][- The Matador & The Bull – [Savant Records, 2012] –

For his Savant Records’ debut, tenor saxman JD Allen went back in the studio with colleagues Gregg August and Rudy Royston, both of whom have been his regular partners on the bandstand and in the studio since 2008.

They go about their business with a robust and focused melodic articulation propelled by great rhythmic drive. You will not find this trio beating a dead horse into submission.

The original tracks are short, they get in, make a statement, essay some variations, and get out–short and sweet and intense. An interesting, exciting and thought-provoking release from JD Allen and company. -[Editorial Review | Amazon]- | Song listing below

Track Listing:
1. The Matador and the Bull (Torero)
2. A Suit of Lights
3. Ring Shout!
4. Santa Maria (Mother)
5. Cathedral
6. Paseillo
7. Erlanger
8. Pin Yin
9. Vuela (The Whisperer)
10. The Lyrics of Summer and Shadow
11. Muleta
12. The Matador and the Bull (Toro)

::: SOURCE: Amazon.com :::