, , ,

Dominic J Marshall Trio, ICAROS

Dominic J Marshall Trio -][- ICARO –Mp3– [F-IRE Recorded Music Ltd., 2012] –

Dominic J Marshall – Pianist/composer, b. Bannockburn, Scotland, 1989.

Marshall is a budding talent with a fertile mind and displays a youthful energy as well as a darker, deeper side.” (Don Albert – Downbeat)

“…a considerable pianistic talent…pleasingly self-absorbed but consistently communicative and inventive piano solos that really impress…featuring an intense, fiercely interactive trio.” (Chris Parker – LondonJazz)

“A wonderfully fresh-sounding trio [Tyratarantis] of young musicians who play so easily you lose sight of the technical accomplishments of all the band members and just dig the feel… they communicate great joy. I think no-one’s told them yet that life’s supposed to be difficult!” – (John Law)

“He plays with real beauty and sensitivity and his compositions are really very imaginative. Echoes of EST.” (Chris Gumbley)

After studying classical piano for 10 years under the tuition of his father, Dominic was awarded the Alan Hawkshaw scholarship to study jazz at Leeds College of Music. In early 2010 one of his original compositions ‘Counting Pennies’ was broadcast on BBC Radio 3’s Jazz Line-Up, and in summer he went on to win the prestigious LCM Piano Prize.

Since relocating to Amsterdam in autumn of the same year DJM has worked on developing his compositional output and studying the traditional jazz idiom more closely. He has also been lucky enough to receive guidance from the likes of Kurt Rosenwinkel, Aaron Parks, Dave Douglas, Gerald Clayton, John Riley, Dick Oatts, Brad Mehldau and Ambrose Akinmusire. His first trio CD ‘The Oneness’ was recorded, self-produced and released in this time, and received good reviews.

In April 2011 Dominic received The Countess of Munster Musical Trust Award for young British musicians of exceptional ability, helping to finance his Masters at the Conservatorium Van Amsterdam. Since graduating ‘Cum Laude’ in May 2012 with a 10, he has continued to play at major jazz venues in Spain, Russia, Germany, Sweden and all over England and the Netherlands. This September his new trio CD ‘Icaros’ – showcasing only original compositions – will be released on the F-IRE Label. It features two of Amsterdam’s finest rhythm section players: Tobias Nijboer on double bass and Kaspars Kurdeko on drums.

::: SOURCE: Dominicjmarshall.com :::